ECFMG 2023 Accreditation Requirement – Moved to 2024

ECFMG 2023 Accreditation Requirement – Moved to 2024

An important stimulus to the WFME Recognition of Accreditation Programme is the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG®) 2023 Accreditation Requirement

ECFMG announced on 13 May 2020 that its accreditation requirement, previously commencing in 2023, will now be implemented in 2024.

WFME welcomes this recognition that the COVID-19 pandemic has delayed or restricted the work of some accrediting agencies. Those that are not yet recognised by WFME are urged to apply for recognition soon. We are expecting increased applications for the recognition process once our service recommences. Application now will secure the first available place.

To date, 21 accrediting agencies have received WFME recognition, a further 13 are in progress and 8 more are soon to enter the process. Interested accrediting agencies are encouraged to apply as soon as possible to ensure timely completion of the recognition process.

From ECFMG’s announcement:

“ECFMG previously announced that, starting in 2023, applicants for ECFMG Certification will be required to be a student or graduate of a medical school that is appropriately accredited. More specifically, the medical school must be accredited by an agency recognized by the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME). … We are energized by the commitment to quality improvement demonstrated in response to this initiative.

At the same time, we recognize that many countries have been forced to suspend or limit their accreditation efforts due to COVID-19 (Coronavirus). As such, we are moving the implementation of the requirement to 2024. We will announce an effective date as we approach 2024; we will also continue to reassess this timeline as needed.

Further details regarding this change will be provided in the coming weeks on our website at”

Pulish date: 13 May 2020
Share This :

Recent Posts

WFME Recognition Programme made strides in raising global medical education standards in 2023

2023 Recognition Programme Recap  2023 was a significant year for...

Three agencies awarded WFME Recognition Status – NCQAAETI, NCAMC and PMDC

Three accrediting agencies have been awarded Recognition Status by the...

The WFME Basic Medical Education Standards on the Horizon 2030

New article about WFME Standards for Basic Medical Education written...

WFME search